Honors 240: Reading the Past


Spring 2021
Professor O’Malley

Zoom Link: https://gmu.zoom.us/j/95948428119?pwd=ZDZWOWE4MzhwSmRFY2FaNmpoMElaZz09

Required Readings
Natalie Zemon Davis, The Return of Martin Guerre
Michel Foucault, History of Sexuality V. 1
Tony Horwitz, Confederates in the Attic
Ari Kelman, A Misplaced Massacre
Alison Landsberg, Prosthetic Memory
Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, A Midwife’s Tale

Grading
1st paper 20%
2nd paper 20%
final paper 40%
class participation 20%

Schedule
Monday, January 25: Introduction:
Wednesday, January 27: Lecture: Free Will, Determinism, and the Problem of Cause

Monday, February 1: 1st paper assignment explained
Wednesday, February 3: Discussion Group A, Abushaika through Martin: Davis, Return of Martin Guerre

Monday, February 8: Discussion Group B, Miakhail-Zandipour : Davis, Return of Martin Guerre,
Wednesday, February 10:  Welcome to the New World (1st paper assignment due in class)

Monday, February 15: Lecture: The Virtue of Illiteracy
Wednesday, February 17: Second paper assignment: Runaways

Monday, February 22: Group A: Ulrich, Midwife’s tale
Wednesday, February 24: Group B: Ulrich, Midwife’s tale

Monday, March 1: Lecture: Jackson and the Indians
Wednesday, March 3: Lecture: The Humane sensibility

Monday, March 8: Lecture: Slavery and Abolition
Wednesday, March 10:  Lecture: Reliable sources. second paper due

Monday, March 15:  Group A: Horwitz, Confederates in the Attic
Wednesday, March 17: Group B Horwitz, Confederates in the Attic

Monday, March 22 Lecture: American Musical Culture
Wednesday, March 24 Lecture Spectacle and Crowds

Monday, March 29 Discussion A Kelman, Misplaced Massacre
Wednesday, March 31 Discussion B Kelman, Misplaced Massacre

Monday, April 5 Lecture: The Culture of Time and Space
Wednesday, April 7 Lecture: Eugenics and the public good

Monday, April 12 Discussion Group A: Foucault, History of Sexuality v. 1
Wednesday April14 Discussion Group B Foucault, History of Sexuality v. 1

Monday, April 19 Lecture Ways of Seeing: the movies
Wednesday, April 21 Lecture WWI

Monday, April 26  All Meet to discuss Landsberg, Prosthetic Memory
Wednesday, April 28 Review